About News Team Teaching Research Impressum

Prof. Christina Büsing


Christina Büsing studied Mathematics at the WWU Münster, the Universidad Comlutense de Madrid and the Technical University of Berlin. She did her dissertation under Prof. Möhring on the topic of Recoverable Robustness in Combinatorial Optimisation. She then worked as a PostDoc in Aachen, Lancaster and Vienna.

From 2016-2022 Christina Büsing served as Junior Professor for Robust Planning in Medical Care at the RWTH Aachen and since 2022 she is Full Professor for Combinatorial Optimisation at RWTH Aachen University. She leads the Teaching and Research Group on Combinatorial Optimisation and her reserach interests include optimisation under uncertainty, robust optimisation, szenario generation, combinatorial optimisation, complexity theory, optimality criteria and both exact and heuristic algorithms.

Christina Büsing has done applied research on energy and mobility, with a special emphasis on operational issues in healthcare.

Research Interests



For a full overview of Christina Büsing's research we refer you to the RWTH Aachen Publication Database and Google Scholar. Three examplary publications:

Network planning under demand uncertainty with robust optimization, 2012 in IEEE Communications Magazine by Thomas Bauschert, Christina Büsing, Fabio D'andreagiovanni, Arie MCA Koster, Manuel Kutschka, Uwe Steglich IEEE/OpenAccess. DOI: 10.1109/MCOM.2014.6736760.

New Results about Multi-band Uncertainty in Robust Optimization, 2014 in Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNTCS,volume 7276) by Christina Büsing, Fabio D'andreagiovanni. Springer. OpenAccess. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-642-30850-5_7.

Robust strategic planning for mobile medical units with steerable and unsteerable demands, 2021 in the European Journal of Operational Research by Christina Büsing, Martin Comis, Eva Schmidt, Manuel Streicher. ELSEVIER. OpenAccess. DOI: 10.1016/j.ejor.2021.02.037.


Lectures for Bachelor's and Masters's students:
Lectures for Master's students:


2019 EURO Program Committee
Since 2018 UnRAVeL Graduate College
2018 INOC Program Committee
2017 ESA Program Committee
2016 ÖGOR Dimploma Award Committee


2022 RWTH Aachen Brigitte-Gilles-Award for contributions to the advancement of women in science
2019 RWTH Aachen FAMOS-Award for excelling family-friendly leadership
2018 RWTH Aachen university-wide Best Teaching Award
2008 TU Berlin Best Diploma Excellence Award in Mathematics
2003-2007 German National Scholarship (Cusanuswerk)